The thirty seven requisites of enlightenment or bodhipakkhiya dhamma in the Pali language and bodhipaksa dharma in the Sanskrit language. being one of the connotations of bodhipakkhiya-dhamma, as given in Chapter I. the thirty-seven Bodhipakkhiya-dhammas, the requisites of enlightenment. bodhipakkhiya-dhammā. The 37 ‘things pertaining to enlightenment’, or ‘ requisites of enlightenment’ comprise the entire doctrines of the Buddha. They are.

Author: Maujora Yogore
Country: Puerto Rico
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Finance
Published (Last): 8 August 2011
Pages: 162
PDF File Size: 15.84 Mb
ePub File Size: 13.9 Mb
ISBN: 288-4-61979-942-1
Downloads: 78416
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Nikoshicage

The 37 requisites of enlightenment are described in the following seven groups:. By presenting the course of practice from different angles, in different keys, and with different degrees of detail, the texts are able to finely modulate the practice of the path to suit the diverse needs of the people to be trained Close consideration of the series would show that the seven sets are ranked in a numerically ascending order, from four to eight, which means that their arrangement is purely pedagogic and implies nothing about a later set being more advanced than the earlier sets The power of faith The power of energy The power of mindfulness, The power of concentration The power of wisdom.

There has to be a balance between faith and wisdom as well as between effort and concentration in order to facilitate spiritual progress. When tranquillity develops, the opposite factors of restlessness and remorse uddaccha kukkuccha are controlled.

Walpola Sri Rahula December 1—7, In the Pasadika sutta of the Digha nikayaas a means of avoiding any disagreement or dispute about the teaching and referring to these 37 requisites, Buddha advised the disciples:.

Bodhipakkhiya-dhamma – Dhamma Wiki

Leave a Reply Cancel reply Dhhamma your comment here Distaste for all the world SN And what, bhikkhus, are these teachings? Email required Address never made public. The Buddhist Literature boduipakkhiya Ancient Gandhara. Note that, whereas the Visuddhimagga orders the five redundant qualities listed in the table in order of ascending frequency among the seven sets that is, from faith which appears twice among the seven sets to energy which appears nine timesthe table below orders them in a manner consistent with the Five Faculties and Five Powers from faith to understanding to facilitate reader comprehension as there is potentially a developmental facet to this classical ordering.


Bodhipakkhiya Dhamma Foundation

Moreover, the Anguttara Nikaya AN 5. Right effort provides necessary energy to develop the other seven factors, particularly the factor of right concentration that is necessary to develop right wisdom. The requisite of concentration appears four times as concentration in the five spiritual faculties and powers; as concentration in the seven factors of enlightenment; and as the right concentration in the Noble Eightfold Path.

That is the four satipatthanas. Fill in your details below dhmma click an icon to log in: Normanp.

In the VisuddhimaggaBuddhaghosa enumerates the seven sets of bodhipakkhiya dhammas along with a relevant Sutta Pitaka discourse Vism.

It is of two types: By using this ddhamma, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. When the five spiritual faculties are developed and cultivated well they become firm, strong and powerful enough to oppose and obdhipakkhiya the factors that can oppose the five spiritual faculties. The requisite of mindfulness appears eight times as the four foundations of mindfulness; as the factor of mindfulness in the five spiritual bodhipxkkhiya and powers; as mindfulness in the seven factors of enlightenment; and as the right mindfulness in the Noble Eightfold Path.

Those who have undertaken the four bases for spiritual power have undertaken the noble path leading to the destruction of suffering. However, on the path of liberation they help to develop wholesome mental states and the supramundane knowledge pertaining to the eradication of mental defilements in order to attain Nibbana or final liberation.

Thirty-Seven Requisites of Enlightenment: Bodhipakkhiya dhamma in Theravada Buddhism

Mindfulness on in and out breathing: The second factor of investigation refers to the bodhipakkhlya of mind that critically discriminates and investigates into the nature of mind and matter or mental and physical phenomena. Through investigation, one gains an analytical knowledge of their true nature consisting of the three universal characteristics of impermanence, unsatisfactoriness and absence of a self.

This, however, would be a misinterpretation. Among the five spiritual faculties, the faculties of faith and wisdom are paired together while effort and concentration are paired together in a reciprocal relationship. Regarding dhammz ordering of the seven sets, Bodhipp. With determined effort, one also acts to cultivate unarisen wholesome mental states and to maintain the wholesome mental states that have already arisen.

  LEY 19279 PDF

It is developed by contemplating on the body, feelings, the mind and the mind objects. Bodhipakkhiya dhamma in Theravada Buddhism. This page was last edited on 30 Novemberat Table 1 below identifies the five qualities spanning multiple bodhipakkhiya-dhamma sets.

Bodhipakkhlya, for example, faith dominates over wisdom, the ability of analysis and investigation will weaken whereas should wisdom dominate over faith it will lead to doubt and uncertainty.

vhamma You are commenting using your Facebook account. In addition, Buddhaghosa factors the 37 qualities in a manner so as to describe fourteen non-redundant qualities Vism. The breath SN According to Buddhist teachings, the final goal is the attainment of Nibbana that has been described as a supramundane state of the highest bliss and eternal happiness devoid of the sufferings of birth, disease, old age, death, grief, lamentation and despair.

The fifth factor passaddhi of calm, serenity, quietness or tranquillity naturally follows joy or rapture and leads on to concentration. Five types or degrees of rapture have been described based on how strong and mature the mental development is: Iddhi means certain spiritual or mental powers and pada means bases. Here is an excellent book, Duamma Wings to Awakeningby Ven.

The thirty seven requisites of enlightenment or bodhipakkhiya dhamma in the Pali language and bodhipaksa dharma in the Sanskrit language are the requisites or qualities dhamma related pakkhiya to awakening or enlightenment bodhi in Buddhism. In the faculty of concentration, by choosing an appropriate meditation object and focusing attention on that, one develops deep states of concentration called dhyana. Dhammanupassana Contemplation of mind objects just as mind objects with no sense of mine, I or myself is done on the following mind objects: Right view is of bodhipakkniya types: The noble eightfold path is of two kinds: Uniquely, in the three discourses from the Samyutta Nikaya By hearing the Dhamma from an Ariya SN Four foundations of mindfulness: Sympathetic joy SN